Brain matter(s)

Sunset and reflection

It scares me when I find myself forgetting things so young. I wonder how bad it will get before it is over. I like to think it is temporary.  My hold on language that I felt very sure of at 18 and even at 38 feels more tentative now, like I am clinging to a rock cliff. That is why I can’t let go of it, and I constantly look for new expressions and inspiration. Then I find a page with words on it in my handwriting. I don’t remember it. I won’t complain, because I am not blind, and this is not cancer, and I have friends dealing with both of those, much more gracefully than I would. But it frightens me, and so I wanted to tell you.

I appreciate friends who may not understand, but extend kindness when I forget things or ask them to repeat something they have told me twice. At times I see something I have handled as if I am seeing it for the first time. Recently noticing others who are transparent and honest, I felt pulled to say this aloud, when I prefer to hide it. I am sure I am not alone in it.

seeing a sunset
each time you kiss my hand
this fairy tale

5 thoughts on “Brain matter(s)

  1. No definitely not alone in this sentiment. I’ve felt it since about when I turned 40 or so. Frustrating innit? I draw a blank on the simplest things sometimes. Writing is good for this (hopefully) as it helps you find other paths through the mind to arrive at the same destination when the original paths are inaccessible. The brain is fascinating, at its capacity to adapt, like when someone had a head injury on the right half that made them have to use the left for something it wouldn’t normally do. I always felt a sense of awe at this, the engineering of the brain that enables it to do this.

    Like

Give me your two cents

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.